24th August 2015

Weekend Round Up

24 August 2015

Away from Beijing, there were plenty of our athletes in action including a whole host of Para stars who headed to Coventry to tune up ahead of the IPC World Championships in Doha in October. Here is our round-up of all the action here. 

Coventry Godiva Classic Open, Coventry, 22-23 August

Six-time Paralympic T54 gold medallist David Weir (coach: Jenny Archer) stepped up his preparations for the IPC World Championships with convincing victories over 800m and 1500m in the two-day Godiva Classic meeting. The 36-year-old Londoner won the men’s 1500m wheelchair race on day one in 3:03.90, finishing more than 20 seconds clear of the field, with Harlow’s Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks) taking second in 3:25.46.  In a separate 1500m race Coventry’s T52 racer Rob Smith (Job King) clocked 4:17.03.

On day two Weir powered to victory in the 800m in 1:36.00, with training partner Moatez Jomni (Archer) second in 1:42.65. Further down the field in the wheelchair 800m, T53 athlete Callum Hall of Leeds City AC clocked 1:49.35 for sixth place overall while 19-year-old T34 competitor Ben Rowlings (Job King) of Coventry Godiva Harriers crossed the line in 1:49.94.  The second men’s wheelchair 800m was won by another teenage T34 athlete, 16-year-old Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman) prevailing in 1:52.18.

Paralympic T34 100m and 200m champion Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks) had a busy weekend. The Halifax native opened  with a 17.85 (no wind reading) clocking as the first T34 finisher in the women’s 100m wheelchair race, ahead of 14-year-old Godiva star Kare Adenegan (Job King), who crossed the line in 18.89. The overall winner was Dutch T54 athlete Margriet van den Broek (17.58), with IPC European T53 100m and 200m champion Samantha Kinghorn (Ian Mirfin) second in 17.83.

Cockroft went on to clock 32.49 (-0.9) as the first T34 finisher in the 200m, van den Broek (31.78) again winning from Kinghorn (32.49) overall. It was a similar story in the 800m on day two, Cockroft taking the T34 honours in 2:03.52 ahead of young Adenegan (2:04.34) with T54 van den Broek (1:55.28) and T53 Kinghorn (1:59.40) first and second overall. The indefatigable Adenegan went on to clock an impressive 63.35 in the 400m, behind van den Broek (57.90), who was also victorious over 1500m (3:42.60).

Paralympic T44 100m champion Jonnie Peacock (Steve Fudge) competed in the open 100m and was not helped by the wet and windy conditions, finishing sixth in 11.54 (-3.1) in the second of several seeded races. Commonwealth T12 100m champion Libby Clegg (Keith Antoine) was also in action, winning the 100m parallel success women’s 100m in 12.57 (-2.6). The same race produced times of 13.23 from T37 Jenny McLoughlin in 13.49 from T35 Maria Lyle (Tabo Huntley) and 13.88 from T37 Katrina Hart (Robert Elchuck). Lyle, the IPC European T35 100m and 200m champion, went on to win the 200m in 30.26 ( -0.6).

T36 Paralympic 100m silver medallist Graeme Ballard clocked 12.51 (-3.0) in the men’s 100m parallel success race, while there were several notable performances from T33 sprinters in the men’s wheelchair 100m races, Toby Gold (Archer) clocking 18.74 (+0.4), Dan Bramall (Rick Hoskins) 19.46 (-0.2), Andrew Small (Hoskins) 19.46 (+0.7) and Shaun White (Christine Parslow) 20.47 (+0.7). In the 200m Bramall recorded 19.39 (-1.5) and Small 20.15.

In the field, F32 Gemma Prescott won the club throw with 19.67m and Marie Hawkeswood won the seated javelin with 16.52m and the discus with 18.11m.


BMC Grand Prix, Solihull, 22 August

Former European Junior 1500m champion Jake Wightman (Geoff Wightman) sliced a tidy 0.57 seconds off his 800m PB with a winning time of 1:47.36 in the two-lap A race. The 21-year-old Loughborough student was followed home by Windsor’s Rory Graham-Watson (Rodger Hughes), runner-up in 1:48.25, Dale Clutterbuck (self-coached) third in  1:48.58, and Jonathan Cook, who was fourth in 1:48.86.

Bolton’s 2008 Olympian Tom Lancashire (Steve Vernon) emerged victorious from the men’s 1500m A race, clocking 3:39.35. Shildon’s GB U23 international Cameron Boyek (David Lowes) clocked a lifetime best of 3:39.15 as runner-up. Southend’s Adam Hickey (Eamonn Martin) was the first British finisher in the men’s 5000m A race, clocking 14:14.20 as runner-up to Australia’s Sam McEntee, whose winning time was 13:50.51.

Pudsey and Bramley’s Alexandra Bell (Aaron Thomas) won the women’s 800m A race in 2:01.96, with Scot Emily Dudgeon (Stuart Hogg) second in 2:02.28. Victory in the women’s 1500m A race went to Ireland’s Ciara Magian in 4:07.17, a PB, with Scottish cross country champion Madeleine Murray (John Lees) second in 4:10.17, Jessica Judd (George Gandy) third in 4:12.08 and Rachael Bamford (Mike Baxter) fourth in 4:12.59, a PB for the Leeds City athlete.



Internationaal Antwerps Atletikgala, Merksem, Belgium, 22 August

European indoor 60m hurdles bronze medallist Serita Solomon (Michelle Bovell) notched a 100m hurdles victory in the latest meeting in the Flanders Cup series. The Blackheath and Bromley athlete was a clear winner in 13.51 (+1.8), ahead of Eefje Ban of the Netherlands (13.85). 

British indoor 800m champion Guy Learmonth (Rob Denmark) claimed victory over two laps in 1:47.49, while Medway and Maidstone sprinter Andre Wright (Harry King) took the 100m in 10.66 (-1.8) and finished runner up in the 200m in 21.25 (-1.9).