17th September 2015

Weir, Cockroft & Whitehead Set For Doha

17 September 2015 

Six reigning world champions have been named in a 48-strong British Athletics team for the IPC Athletics World Championships in Doha taking place between 22-31 October 2015. 

Hannah Cockroft (coach: Jenni Banks), Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer-Jones), Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine), Sophie Hahn (Joseph McDonnell), Hollie Arnold (Anthony Hughes) and Paul Blake (Rob Ellchuk) will all be looking to retain the titles they won at the last edition of the championships in Lyon two years ago.

Six-time Paralympic, world and London Marathon winner David Weir (Jenny Archer) will put on the British vest for the first time since winning four gold medals at London 2012 and will be looking for further glory in the 800m and 1500m, two titles that he won in Christchurch in 2011. 

It’s been a whirlwind of a year for Georgie Hermitage (Paul MacGregor), who will make her international debut at the Suhaim Bin Hamad Stadium. The 26 year old will line up in the T37 100m and 400m off the back of setting a world record in the latter at the Anniversary Games claiming the scalp of France’s three-time global gold medallist Mandy François-Elie

The Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park was also a happy hunting ground for Hahn, who broke her own T38 world record clocking 13.00 to beat the athlete that pipped her to gold three-times at last year’s IPC Athletics European Championships – Margarita Goncharova.

After winning two gold medals in Swansea last summer on her international bow, 15 year old Maria Lyle (Tabo Huntley) will be looking to get amongst the medals once again as the former T35 100m and 200m world record holder goes up against Australia’s Isis Holt, who set the new leading marks of 14.16 and 29.49 respectively. 

European F51 club throw gold medallist Jo Butterfield (Shona Malcolm/Phil Peat) heads to Doha ranked world number one and Commonwealth Games gold medallist Libby Clegg (McDonnell), guide runner: Mikail Huggins) will targeting the medals once again.

The evergreen Stephen Miller (Ros Miller) will make his sixth IPC Athletics World Championships appearance, while Dan Greaves (John Godina) will be determined to upgrade on the silver medal he won last time around having been champion in 2011.  

14 athletes will make their senior international debuts including Invictus Games gold medallist Dave Henson (Roger Keller) and Kare Adenegan (Job King), who at 14 is the youngest member of the team travelling to the Middle East.

Paralympic Head Coach, Paula Dunn said: “It’s a really exciting team heading out to Doha for the IPC Athletics World Championships. We’ve got a real mix of athletes who have won medals on the global stage as well as a number of new faces, which is really encouraging looking ahead to the future.

“Doha is a stepping stone for many of the athletes on their respective journeys to Rio, London 2017 and Tokyo 2020. I know the team will leave no stone unturned to deliver the sort of performances that we witnessed in Lyon two years ago.”


The 48 athletes selected for the British Athletics team heading to the IPC Athletics World Championships in Doha from October 22-31:

Kare Adenegan (Job King) T34 100m, 400m, 800m  

Hollie Arnold (Anthony Hughes) F46 javelin

Graeme Ballard (Tabo Huntley) T36 100m, 200m

Paul Blake (Robert Ellchuk) T36 400m, 800m

Sam Bowen (Anthony Hughes) F44 discus, shot put

Daniel Bramall (Rick Hoskins) T33 100m

Olivia Breen (Jonas Taiwah-Dodoo) T38 100, 4x100m, Long Jump

Jonathan Broom-Edwards (Fuzz Ahmed) T44 high jump

Shaun Burrows (Joseph McDonnell) T38 100m, 400m

Jo Butterfield (Shona Malcolm/Philip Peat) F51 club throw, discus

Richard Chiassaro (Jenni Banks) T54 100m, 200m, 400m 

Libby Clegg (Joseph McDonnell, guide runner: Mikail Huggins) T12 100m, 200m 

Hannah Cockroft (Jenni Banks) T34 100m, 400m, 800m 

Kadeena Cox (Brian Scobie) T37 100m, 200m, 4x100m

Aled Davies (Ryan Spencer-Jones) F42 shot put, discus

Kyron Duke (Anthony Hughes) F41 shot put, javelin

Sabrina Fortune (Ian Robinson) F20 shot put

Toby Gold (Jenny Archer) T33 100m

Dan Greaves (John Godina) F44 discus

Thomas Green (Kenneth Green) F32 Club

Kylie Grimes (Philip Peat) F51 club throw, (Jenni Banks) T51/52 100m

Sophie Hahn (Joseph McDonnell) T38 100m, 200m, 4x100m 

Claire Harvey (Shelley Holroyd) F55 discus, javelin 

Dave Henson (Roger Keller) T42 100m, 200m

Georgina Hermitage (Paul McGregor) T37 100m, 400m 

Jordan Howe (Keith Antoine) T35 100m

Abbie Hunnisett (Mark Hunnisett, Camilla Thrush) F32 club throw

Mo Jomni (Jenny Archer) T53 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m

Rhys Jones (Keith Antoine) T37 100m

Sophie Kamlish (Robert Ellchuk) T44 100m

Sammi Kinghorn (Ian Mirfin) T53 100m, 200m, 400m, 800m  

Maria Lyle (Tabo Huntley) T35 100m, 200m 

Polly Maton (Colin Baross) T47 long jump

Jenny McLoughlin (Keith Antoine) T37 100m, 200m, 4x100m

Stephen Miller (Ros Miller) F32 club throw

Tony Mills (Edward Thompson) T44 long jump

Holly Neill (Andrew Roda) F41 discus

Mel Nicholls (Job King) T34 400m, 800m

Steve Osborne (Jenni Banks) T51 100m, 400m 

Gemma Prescott (Mike Wood) F32 club throw

Ben Rowlings (Job King) T34 100m, 200m 400m, 800m

Sam Ruddock (Jim Edwards) F35 shot put

Zachary Shaw (Peter Gifford) T13 100m, 200m

Laura Sugar (Femi Akinsanya) T44 100m, 200m

Isaac Towers (Peter Wyman) T34 200m, 400, 800m

David Weir (Jenny Archer) T54 800m, 5000m

Richard Whitehead (Keith Antoine) T42 100m, 200m